Cervical Cancer Channel
Topics & Medications
Related Channels

Cervical Cancer

Stages of Cervical Cancer

After the cancer has been diagnosed, tests are done to find out how far the cancer has spread within the cervix and other parts of the body. In order to treat cervical cancer, it is important to know the stage of cancer that you have.
The stages of cervical cancer include:
  • Stage 0
  • Stage I
  • Stage II
  • Stage III
  • Stage IV
  • Recurrent.
(Click Stages of Cervical Cancer for more information about these stages.)

Treatment Options

There are many different types of cervical cancer treatment, which vary based on the type of cervical cancer that a person has. Factors that may influence treatment include:
  • The stage of the cancer (see Stages of Cervical Cancer)
  • The size of the tumor
  • The patient's desire to have children
  • The patient's age.
In general, treatment can include:
  • Surgery
  • Chemotherapy
  • Radiation therapy.
Patients should work with their healthcare provider to develop a treatment plan that meets their medical needs and personal values. Choosing the most appropriate treatment is a decision that ideally involves the patient, the patient's family, and the patient's healthcare team.
(Click Cervical Cancer Treatment for more information.)


The prognosis of cervical cancer will depend on the following:
  • The stage of the cancer
  • The type of cervical cancer
  • The size of the tumor.
5 Quick Tricks for Overcoming Nicotine Cravings

Cancer of the Cervix

Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2018 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.